Masterpieces, New and Old Concert

Submitted by Picosa on Wed, 12/05/2018 - 1:50pm
Tuesday, December 11, 2018 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm


Shulamit Ran| An Ode to Nina: Brave Chicken and the Ogre(piccolo/flute & clarinet/bass clarinet) *World Premiere

Ludwig van Beethoven| Piano Trio No. 5 in D Major, Op. 70, No. 1 “Ghost”   (violin/cello/piano)

Johannes Brahms| Trio in a minor, op 114   (clarinet/cello/piano)

Jennifer Higdon| Smash  (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)



Jennie Oh Brown | flute

Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet

Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin

Paula Kosower | cello

Kuang-Hao Huang | piano

Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence


A concert of chamber music favorites gets a new bit of sparkle with the addition of works by two Pulitzer Prize winning, ground-breaking composers: Shulamit Ran and Jennifer Higdon. Jennifer Higdon's music is among the most frequently performed of this generation.  Her virtuosic chamber work Smash for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano is a tour de force that audiences are sure to find thrilling.  Shulamit Ran's duo An Ode to Nina: Brave Chicken and the Ogre is an introspective work written in memory of Nina Frenkel, an artist who passed away in 2015.  Frenkel's works will be displayed during the performance and also as a prelude and postlude to the concert.  An Ode to Nina: Brave Chicken and the Ogre was written for piccolo/flute and clarinet/bass clarinet, and Picosa musicians are honored to premiere it and to include it in this season.  

At the crux of this concert are two epic chamber music trios.  The Piano Trio No. 5 in D Major, Op. 70, No. 1 "Ghost" is among the most revered works within Beethoven's large oeuvre of chamber music for strings and piano.  Brahms' Trio in a minor, op. 114 for clarinet, cello, and piano is a personal favorite for Picosa musicians and audiences alike. Audiences will have the opportunity to contrast these great works within this concert program, a treat and a rare opportunity for music aficionados and all music lovers.  


Location and contact
Mayslake Peabody Estate
1717 31st Street
Oak Brook  Illinois  60523
United States
Contact Email: 
Masterpieces, New and Old Concert | Chicago Artists Resource


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.